Reviews

5
based on 38 reviews
Alexandra
Beautiful B&B with spacious rooms

Beautiful bed and breakfast with multiple outdoor sitting areas. The grounds are sprawling and beautiful. Room #15 is spacious and gorgeous with an extremely comfortable bed. New, clean bathroom. Fabulous staff are welcoming and accommodating.

Young couple  |  Room #15  |  stayed in 8/2019

Amanda H (Canada)
In the words of our daughter, it was “charming for all ages”.

Reviewed by Amanda H Aug 30, 2019 The Homestead was our base for a few days from which we explored the shops, restaurants and beaches of Madison, as well as the nearby towns of New Haven,Essex and Mystic and Springfield in Massachusetts.The staff (Anne, Amy, Pat and Demaris) were very welcoming, friendly, efficient and helpful. We devoured the delicious breakfasts (quiche, scones,waffles, bacon, sausages, yogurt and fresh fruit), and appreciated the tea, coffee, espresso, and lemon water which were available all the time at a self serve station.Plus, freshly baked cookies were always tempting us. We loved the king bed (room 5), luxurious linen & towels and the thoughtful amenities which included: two luggage racks, a bar fridge, bedside charging ports for electronics, a sewing kit and hair dryer. The house is beautifully decorated and our daughter was delighted with the flameless remote controlled candles. Patio seating, two outdoor lounge areas with fire pits, and chairs under umbrellas in the garden where wild bunnies and turkeys occasionally strolled, enticed us out the house. Our teen children had fun first experiences: listening to records on the Victrola in their room, and cycling on the tandem bike. The Homestead is a 5 star bed and breakfast where they have given attention to every detail, and the staff do everything to make your stay comfortable and memorable.

Family with older children  |  Room #5  |  stayed in 8/2019

Reviewed by NYsettler via Trip Advisor (NY)
Comfy, unpretentious and dog friendly!

Aug 28, 2019 Comfy, unpretentious and dog friendly! Actually, the crew at The Homestead loved my dog and my dog loved them. First, the pet part. When traveling i worry that I will have no choice but to walk my pup along a very narrow shoulder and we are city people accustomed to sidewalks. The B&B sits on a large plot so we could walk and sniff all around without going near the road, but the road itself has a generous shoulder on both sides. All paws up on this issue. The inn is super-comfy all around with bigger rooms than I expected and a great blend of furnishings. The sheets really are as soft as others have said and the rooms are outfitted with furniture that has character and that embraces our modern, digitally-enhanced lives. There are multiple outdoor seating areas and fire pits so you can socialize or not and no one tussles over a single porch swing. Details rule at The Homestead like a breakfast spread that accommodates all kinds of preferred ways of eating. Try the cookies.

Single traveller  |  Room #7  |  stayed in 8/2019

Trevor via Trip Advisor (Canada)
Absolutely Wonderful!

Reviewed by Trevor H Aug 28, 2019 Absolutely Wonderful! I've now stayed there twice, and everything was amazing each time. It offers all the privacy of a hotel - with very quiet and comfortable rooms, and all the comfort of a B&B - with very friendly staff, spacious common areas and beautiful outdoor spaces, all decorated with quirky trinkets to make it feel like home. It's close to town, close to the beaches and close to the interstate, all while feeling set back in the woods. Breakfasts are delicious, and they are sure to leave cookies and port out for any late night hankerings.

Single traveller  |  Room #5  |  stayed in 8/2019

Reviewed by DaWanai via Trip Advisor
Wonderful, comfortable, welcoming stay—amazing attention to detail!

Aug 22, 2019 Wonderful, comfortable, welcoming stay—amazing attention to detail! Happened upon the place by a serendipitous series of events but what a fortunate outcome. I needed to make sure that there would be space for me to park my trailer with a classic car on it and be assured it was safe. No problem, they walked out to meet me when I arrived and showed me where. They let me keep some cold goods from my trip cold in the fridge and showed me to the room through a charming, warm, well appointed homelike dining and reading rooms and tea room, and shown to my room. There was a Victorola record player with a selection of old records in the room and downstairs which I happily listened to for a bit before going to sleep. The bed was comfortable and soft and either side of it had a tasteful outlet box with 6 USB power outlets! The room, the B&B and all its frills were explained to me with care. I awoke refreshed the next day to shower to hot water without temperature change and big puffy towels. Breakfast was great, with yogurt and fruit and the tastiest, fluffiest quiche, tea and fun conversation. Then when I had to go, they reminded me to take the food I had left in the freezer and fridge and I was off, feeling grateful to have found it.

Single traveller  |  stayed in 8/2019

Reviewed by TedM569 Via Trip Advisor
Stellar service, great location, attention to detail

Aug 17, 2019 The Homestead is a must stay with visiting the Connecticut coast. The location couldn't be better with easy access to downtown Madison, world-class beaches, and beautiful parks. The property is gorgeous and inviting. Ralph, Nikki and his team take service and attention to detail to the next level. You feel instantly welcome and relaxed. The decor is comforting and cozy. The rooms are large. There is a vintage record player in each room with a collection of vinyl to explore (during booking they ask what your favorite music is and supply it in the mix of records!). Special notes throughout make you feel taken care of and that every detail is paid attention to. A note from the team and a little surprise greet you in you room. Modern charging stations by each bed for all of your devices. The finishes are high-end. The bedding as fine as you'll find in any luxury hotel. The bathroom amenities are top notch. In the main living area, you can explore the history of submarines and the Connecticut Coast, read about things to do in the area, and learn more about the town of Madison. You can continue your music journey with more record players and vinyl throughout, a piano for all to play, and even acoustic and electric guitars. Self-serve espresso, port wine, tea, and lemon water are always available as are snacks. The breakfast is to die for. Locally made scones that melt in your mouth, divine quiche made with local artichokes, locally made yogurt, fresh fruit, and a damn amazing cappuccino. The outside of the property has beautiful landscaping, comfy seating and fire pits. It's perfect for any time of the year. I can't say enough great things about this property and team. I thoroughly enjoyed by stay and can't wait to be back with my family.

Single traveller  |  stayed in 8/2019

Reviewed by Pixee8dust Via Trip Advisor
Excellent location, property and staff!

Aug 12, 2019 Location is very close to the beach and downtown shopping area of Madison. The property is newly renovated with spacious rooms, eclectic decor, high end furniture and luxurious linens. Amenities are high end with extras including free use of bikes, outdoor lounge area with fire pit, and well manicured lawns. Best of all, the staff were friendly, attentive and extremely helpful. Pat, Damaries and Amy were all amazing. A truly pleasant experience staying at the Homestead which we highly recommend.

Not specified  |  stayed in 8/2019

Reviewed by lolatravel322 Via Trip Advisor (Fla)
Immaculate accommodations and exceptional attention to detail

Reviewed by lolatravel322 Aug 9, 2019 The first thing you notice about The Homestead upon arrival are the sculpted grounds and idealic setting. It just takes your breath away. You feel immediately at peace, ready to fully unwind and relax. The Homestead is the perfect combination of intimately interactive and private. There are multiple common areas to sit and read either by yourself or in the company of others... both indoors and outdoors. My room was big and beautifully decorated and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Every detail was attended to... right down to the record player! I had a wide selection of Elvis records to choose from. A really unique touch! Needless to say, I highly recommend The Homestead for your next visit to the area.

Family with young children  |  Room #5  |  stayed in 8/2019

Reviewed by MarinaKn
At least a 13 on a 5 scale

Aug 9, 2019 This place is truly outstanding. Every detail has been thought through and executed to perfection, from the incredible sheets, to the record players in every room, to the collection of antique cameras or the Hemingway's favorite model of typewriter in the living room, not to mention the piano and the guitar in the living room. The staff is incredibly pleasant and helpful, the breakfast phenomenally fresh. There truly is not a single thing I wish were different. Can't wait for a return trip.

Not specified  |  stayed in 8/2019

Reviewed by Don-cttraveler Via Trip Advisor
Excellent overnight getaway with friends

Aug 8, 2019 We stayed over night on a saturday and the the Homestead had most of the rooms filled but it was quiet, exceptionally clean and the hostess was very nice. The breakfast on Sunday morning was all home made products and such a treat! We highly recommend a stay.

Not specified  |  stayed in 8/2019

Loading...
Upps!
You're running a web browser we don't fully support. Please upgrade it for a better experience.
Our site works best with Google Chrome.
How to upgrade the browser